Symmetry Innovations

  QNX® Neutrino® RTOS Certified Plus™

One product, two certificates

QNX Neutrino RTOS Certified Plus is the world's first realtime operating system that provides both functional safety and security certifications. The RTOS is certified to IEC 61508 Safety Integrity Level 3 (SIL3) and Common Criteria ISO/IEC 15408 Evaluation Assurance Level (EAL) 4+.

These safety and security certifications enable rapid engagement in market segments where functional safety and security are both required.


QNX Neutrino RTOS Certified Plus combines the benefits of the QNX Neutrino RTOS Safe Kernel and the QNX Neutrino RTOS Secure Kernel. Its certification credentials combined with its microkernel architecture, full POSIX-compliant API, and adaptive partitioning technology provide the ideal foundation for any system with functional safety and security requirements.

Ease of migration between all products in QNX Software Systems' certified portfolio, as well as from the standard QNX Neutrino RTOS, means projects can leverage a common platform for their standard and certified products.

QNX Neutrino RTSO Certified Plus offers direct savings in manpower and development time. It streamlines product planning, system design, and product certification, thus shortening time to market.

Supported platforms

QNX Neutrino RTOS Certified Plus is supported on x86, ARM and Power PC platforms. The shipped product contains:

  • QNX Neutrino RTOS Certified Plus binaries and libraries
  • IEC 61508 SIL3 certificate
  • IEC 61508 certification summary report
  • Safety manual for QNX Neutrino RTOS Certified Plus
  • Installation guide and User guide

To view the Common Criteria credentials for QNX Neutrino RTOS Certified Plus, see the Communications Security Establishment Canada (CSE) website at

Go to top of page